Work Readiness

Job Hunting Advice from an Experienced LGBTQ+ Recruiter

Applying for a job is all about storytelling

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen
Published in
8 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

I’ve conducted job interviews in 4 very different types of work settings. In 3 of those places, I interviewed people for entry level positions. In my current job, I still interview people of all walks of life fairly regularly.

Here are some things that I want all job hunters to know.

Experience isn’t always required for you to get a job interview or land that amazing job. When applying for a position, don’t make assumptions about the sort of job history the recruiter is looking for. Instead, focus on storytelling. Tell us the story of what it would be like if we hired you. Tell us the story of who you are and why we need what only you can bring to the table. You aren’t replaceable. Believe that. Make sure we know that.

In my last position, I had a daunting task. I needed to decide who to call for an interview in a database containing thousands of applicants. Each day, there were too many new applicants for us to read every resume while managing the campaign and canvassing. You’d assume that I was selecting only the most experienced canvassers from that long list of resumes, right?

--

--

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen

I’m a polyamorous, non-binary trans man (he/him). I edit for Queerly Trans, Prism & Pen, Enbyous, and Trans Love & (A)Sexuality. Twitter: @logan_silkwood.