How Do We Create Safe LGBTQ Spaces?

LGBTQ Safe Space Creation V2023.0

Do safe spaces enable unsafe behaviors?

Soul Dancer, Soul University
Prism & Pen
Published in
8 min readMay 4, 2023

--

Image by author using royalty-free images.

A Prism & Pen writing prompt inspired me to reflect on 45+ years of avid out volunteering for organizations, politicians and causes clearly supportive of my rainbow Ohana (family).

How do we create safe LGBTQ spaces? Bring the bars back?

Good question, Jim.

I chuckled at Jim’s reminiscence of his adventures at the Question Mark Bar & Grill in his early years living in Des Moines, Iowa. Born and raised in Cedar Rapids Iowa, myself, I know all too well the closeted space I navigated growing up in a strictly devout Catholic midwest home. Unlike Jim, I had NO clue about gay bars. I had no clue about any safe-space outside my small bedroom where I painstakingly created a sanctuary to just be me.

When I moved to Minneapolis to follow my dream to become a certified travel agent (inspired by a deep lust for travel) I knew about a club called The Gay 90’s (locally known as The 90’s) within easy walking distance. Within a week of settling into my dorm room (with a drop-dead gorgeous Wisconsinite I immediately fell deep in the illusions cast by unrequited love) I trekked on over to The 90’s. Best to party before starting classes — right?

--

--