Conversations Between a Transgender Woman and Her Dead Mother

Me and the Voice in my head.

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

--

https://www.pexels.com/@gabby-k/

Don’t you hate those voices in your head. We all have inner voices.

Why does mine sound like my mother?

According to the British Mental Health Foundation:

It’s common to think that hearing voices must be a sign of a mental health condition, but many people who are not mentally unwell hear voices. People may hear voices because of: traumatic life experiences, which may be linked to post-traumatic stress disorder, stress, or worry.

OK so we’re not automatically crazy, but does it have to sound like my mother?

I loved my mother but we had the classic mother/daughter relationship. We were confrontational regularly. I was the classic middle child between two brothers. They were both princes and I got to play Cinderella before the ball. I got stuck changing diapers and doing house chores. My older brother was taught carpentry by my grandfather and my younger brother was told to go out and play.

Occasionally, we did do things together, just the two of us. We used to cook together. When I came home after being out with friends, we would put on records and dance, sometime until dawn. She was an excellent artist who patiently…

--

--

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.