CREATIVE NON-FICTION

Moving 1,719 Miles as a Transgender Married Couple is Overwhelming

It all started with a call from my wife that broke my heart

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen
Published in
6 min readMay 20, 2022

--

Photo by TheMuuj; Title: “Moving truck”; Platform: Flickr

Moving 1,719 miles would be a challenge for nearly anyone. As two transgender people making this move together, we face some additional challenges.

For one thing, we’re making this move primarily because we’re trans, though we made this decision before I knew I was a trans man. A few years ago, my wife went to this place in the western United States for work and fell in love with this city for a simple reason that breaks my heart. They walked into a store and people ignored them. This was such a revelation for my wife that they immediately called to tell me all about it.

“Logan, I don’t want to come home. I just walked through a store and everyone ignored me. No murder glares. No laughter. Nothing. It was great! Can we just move here?”

How do you say “no” to something like that? My wife should be able to go into a store without being afraid.

My wife should be able to go into a store without being afraid.

This began an incredibly slow process of moving. Those who have kept up with us have been expecting this…

--

--

Logan Silkwood
Prism & Pen

I’m a polyamorous, non-binary trans man (he/him). I edit for Queerly Trans, Prism & Pen, Enbyous, and Trans Love & (A)Sexuality. Twitter: @logan_silkwood.