This is What Stereotypes & LGBTQ Truth (Hiding) Mean to Me

My Bi-Lie. Hiding LGBTQ Truth.

How LGBTQ stereotypes have affected me and many others.

Rachel D Adams
Prism & Pen
Published in
9 min readApr 17, 2024

--

Photo by Sam McNamara on Unsplash

This article is going to be all over the place. I grabbed a writing prompt from Pen & Prism and I just wanted to get my raw feelings about it onto the screen. So, this is probably not the most coordinated effort at keeping things on a good flow for a standard article. I just wanted to warn you about that up-front.

However, if you stick with me through this, I believe you’ll come away with a lot to think about. If you want to comment and share your own experiences with this, feel free! I’d love to talk to other people about this subject.

For this article, I assume you know what the word stereotype means, but just in case — a stereotype is an oversimplified idea about a particular person. It doesn’t mean it’s incorrect, but it definitely is not something that applies to all people in a group. Some stereotypes can be very negative.

Who am I? Why do I have anything to say about this topic?

I want to begin this article by stating that I have been bisexual for as long as I can remember understanding emotions. You see, when I was a kid, I grew up…

--

--

Rachel D Adams
Prism & Pen

(she/her/pan) I’m not a well-behaved woman. I am an ally, amateur photog, content creator, novelist, empty nester, traveler, wife, & friend.