My Bottom Surgery: Love Em, Leave Em, or Fix Em

A story about genitals, generations, and personal decisions

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

--

https://www.pexels.com/@enginakyurt/

For most people, their genitals are where they are supposed to be and exactly what they expected. They are just there. For some, they are a great source of pride, and for many, size matters. Women’s breasts are a major focus of our society, while a man’s penis is the object of that quietly stolen glance by admirers, male and female. Larger breasts and penises are the subject of whispered jealousies by those lesser endowed.

Like every other part of our bodies, our genitals are subject to the same love and hate scrutiny as we privately view our bodies in the bathroom mirror. Some of us don’t give our genitals too much thought, some don’t care, and some are obsessed.

If you are transgender, you are in a different category all by yourself. Size doesn’t matter. Nature simply gave you the wrong ones.

For transgender women, I call it the battle of the bulge.

I read a wonderful story from Sofia Felina López, a Millennial transgender woman here on Medium.

--

--

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.