My History Writing Gay Superman/Lex Luthor Fanfic

Slash, OTPs, and Fanfic, Oh My!

Esther Spurrill-Jones
Prism & Pen
Published in
4 min readApr 21, 2022

--

Smallville iPhone wallpaper by xploitme on Flickr | Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 Generic (CC BY-SA 2.0)

My first fandom was Superman.

I was visiting my uncle’s house in Northern British Columbia. Their yard was a square of yellowing grass and dust. A child of the mountains, I was overwhelmed by the empty distance, the desolate blankness of the Canadian prairies.

I holed up in my cousin’s bedroom, sifting through a box of old Superman comic books. I devoured stories of Clark, Lois, Kara, and Krypton the dog. I lost myself in a world of wonder and fancy, where survivors of a planetary destruction could fly and shake off bullets.

My sister and I watched several episodes of an animated Batman series one day while waiting in a store for my mom to finish shopping. I don’t remember what store it was, but it wasn’t unusual for store televisions then to play hours and hours of a show. I know it was not Batman: The Animated Series as this was years before that, and this show had a Robin who said, “Holy rusted metal, Batman!” and fought alongside Batgirl against Mr Freeze and the Riddler. My best guess is it must have been The Adventures Of Batman from 1968.

At some point in our childhood, my sister and I began to create “imaginary plays’’ together at night before we fell asleep. I would lie in my bed…

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
Prism & Pen

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.