PRISM & PEN — AMPLIFYING LGBTQ VOICES THROUGH THE ART OF STORYTELLING

My LGBTQ Pride Is Non-Existent

I am no longer ashamed, however

Kitty Whitemore
Prism & Pen
Published in
3 min readJun 29, 2022

--

Image From Canva Pro by Mlenny

Hello, Kitty here I’m new to this group, so if I misspeak, please gently correct me in the comments section. I am a transgender woman, and I identify as a member of the queer community. I am newly out and learning every day.

I am a very literal speaker. I think word choice is very important when trying to convey meaning.

Level Setting My Peeps

pride

/prīd/

noun

  1. a feeling of deep pleasure or satisfaction derived from one’s own achievements, the achievements of those with whom one is closely associated, or from qualities or possessions that are widely admired.
  2. “The team was bursting with pride after recording a sensational victory”

verb

  1. be especially proud of (a particular quality or skill).
  2. “she’d always prided herself on her ability to deal with a crisis”

When I think about my queerness, I don’t feel any of those things. I am proud of some of my accomplishments, but I am not proud of the parts of me that I…

--

--