My Transgender Movie Crushes

Women I Love and Women I’d Love to Be

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

--

https://unsplash.com/@abdu27

As someone who is transgender, my crushes were more complicated than most. I have crushes on women because I like women and I have crushes on women because I wanted to be them.

Complicated huh?

As a repressed MTF transgender female, I have always loved ROMCOMs (romantic comedies). So here’s my top eight list in no order in that particular category:

I think my number one crush for both categories would be Ramona Flowers (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) in Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (2010). I loved clothes, I loved her eyes, I loved how cool she was and she appealed to my lesbian nature. She was the total package for me.

Audrey Hepburn in Charade (1963). She had a natural sophistication, a charming wit and a simple beauty.

Keira Knightley particularly in Begin Again (2013). Maybe because it was shot in Manhattan and Brooklyn, but her laugh and her style really appealed to me.

Julia Stiles and Heath Ledger in 10 Things I Hate About You (1999). This is one of the few times I will admit that I had a crush on a guy and a girl.

Kate Beckinsale in Serendipity (2001). The way she crinkles her nose gets me every time.

--

--

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.