My Year of Queer Sisterhood

Beginning 2024 with an open heart

Josie Defaye
Prism & Pen

--

Image Source: Josie Defaye

I write to share with you my love for four dear women I befriended this year as a woman. I came out as a trans in June 2022. After a combination of factors delayed my social and medical transition (seasonal affective disorder, incompatible career, sperm bank scheduling conflicts), I began hormones in February. After a four month pause from April to August, I’m five months strong on estrogen, and it’s wonderful. I’m grounded. Centered. To my constant physical discomfort my psyche said: gurl bye.

And to four women, my heart said: hi, I love you. With these women I’ve become a new type of sister. And they’ve become sisters to me. To structure my reflections, I did a five card tarot reading, each card from its own deck.

Sydney, the Page of Cups, taught me to acknowledge my femininity. Ingrid, Strength, pushed me to resolution in accepting my spiritual gifts. Sin, the World, showed me an example of pursuing a wholeness in gender transition. With Caryn, the Magician, I found a twin spirit in self-actualization and psalm. I, Justice, accept these gifts of sisterhood; I enter 2024 liberated from my liquor-soaked, tormented masculinity; we begin in divine, feminine angelhood. What I’ve learned from each friend structures my entry into 2024. Sydney’s creativity, Ingrid’s courage, Sin’s unity…

--

--

Josie Defaye
Prism & Pen

She/her. 🏳️‍⚧️ Educator, writer, reader. ☕️ Topics: ⚧️ gender | ✍🏼language | 🃏tarot | 💣politics |🍸sobriety | 📚education | 🎵music