Newly Open Gay Man Gets Political

Chapter 59: Activism

Laurence Best
Prism & Pen

--

1993 March On Washington

By mid-1992, I had everything I could hope for: I was publicly out after decades in the closet, I had love, a prosperous career, and a family that seemed to be surviving despite what I had done to them. However, my unhappiness with the way gay people were treated began to grow, and I was furious whenever I read news coverage of gay rights, which was clouded by AIDS discrimination on top of rampant homophobia.

At fellow-attorney Lloyd Bowers’ invitation, I attended meetings of The Forum for Equality, a group of lesbian and gay professionals seeking equal treatment and dignity. Initially, I joined to meet people, but as time passed, I was impressed with the dedication, creativity, and intelligence of those on the Steering Committee. I decided to offer my support. Randy Evans, the founder and driving force, along with Lloyd, Ginger Berrigan, Jody Gates, Jack Sullivan, Susan Clade, Lou Volz, Mark Cassidy, and so many others would become lifelong friends.

I did not see what I could offer other than financial support, but I put myself out there anyway to do whatever was asked. I prefer to follow orders and have never seen myself as a leader. Besides, these folks had been fighting in the trenches since the organization’s founding in 1988. I knew nothing about local politics, much less about grassroots…

--

--

Laurence Best
Prism & Pen

Larry Best is a retired trial lawyer who writes about the alienation that led him into the closet until he was 42 years old and his life since coming out