No Job For Trans Girl?

The aggravating journey of finding work without compromising who I am

Alleria Brightfall
Prism & Pen
Published in
3 min readJan 31, 2024

--

Photo by Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

I thought when I moved to New York that my worries would be over. I thought it would be easy to get a job as a trans girl. I thought that living in a liberal community meant that I would not have to face being discriminated against.

I thought wrong.

I have been chilling at a friend’s place since late October. My goal was to adjust to my new environment then start hunting for a new job at the turn of the year. I set out to apply at all the establishments within walking distance.

I started at a fast food chain that had a We Are Hiring sign on the door. I asked for the manager and introduced myself to her with an outstretched hand. She did not return the courtesy. Her eyes scanned me briefly before she replied that she did not need anyone at the moment, but I could put my application online for the future. I wanted to inquire about the sign on the door, but I felt it would accomplish nothing. So I smiled and left.

I continued my journey over the next couple of days. I walked around, shook hands and put in my application at every business in sight. Most of them were pleasant, but the endeavor was fruitless. Everyone had an excuse as to why they did not need me.

--

--

Alleria Brightfall
Prism & Pen

Mystic Princess and founder of Serpent and Butterfly, Department of Conspiracies and Nevermore Black. Artist, writer, occultist, gamer and philosopher.