Truth: I Feel Lonely Even Inside My Chosen Queer Communities

Not Quite Straight, Not Quite Queer: The Loneliness of the Grey Area

The struggle of not belonging continues

Matt Mason
Prism & Pen
Published in
4 min readApr 6, 2024

--

Photo by Justin Luebke on Unsplash

Eighteen months. That’s how long I’ve been out as demisexual. Eighteen months since I started the process of understanding why my experiences were so different from my straight friends. Eighteen months since I began to understand why certain past experiences went the way they did. Eighteen months since I stopped being an ally to the LGBTQ+ community and realised that I too belong under the umbrella with my lesbian, gay, bi, trans, non-binary, and ace friends.

I wrote this piece about not belonging sixteen months ago.

Things have changed a lot. I’m much more secure in who I am. I claim the demisexual and asexual labels with more ease and a lot less guilt. Outwardly and to those who follow me on social media who see me talking about my experiences openly, I likely come across as someone secure in this orientation.

--

--

Matt Mason
Prism & Pen

Creatively curious lifelong writer. I use Medium to discuss LGBTQIA issues (I am demisexual). Editor in Chief of The Ace Space.