“Ohhhh, those are cute shoes!” said by Straight Cisgender Men Never.

Onward on my transgender journey, laughing all the way

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

--

An action shot of the author confronting her gender reality.

I know I spend a lot of time describing the incredible pain of gender dysphoria and the social pain of being transgender. There is more to the experience than all that.

There are moments when you simply have to laugh.

There are absurd moments in your transition when you ask yourself, “Is this real?” followed by, “Are you kidding me?” and finally, “You can’t make this shit up!”

I am incredibly happy that I have a sense of humor.

It has kept me from blowing up.

The adult transgender journey is a strange one that is never, ever a straight line. If you can retain your sense of humor, it includes a lot of laughs.

I wrote a series of things here for my transgender community to bring at least a smile to faces that are suffering from rejection and internal pain.

Here are my six favorites:

--

--

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.