What’s YOUR Queer Love Song or Story?

Passionate Love Songs for My Queer Crushes

Even if not all my crushes were queer

Sieran Lane
Prism & Pen
Published in
9 min readNov 10, 2023

--

A cute floofy long-haired grey cat with green eyes, sitting on top of her cat tree, and staring at the top right corner. She looks super endearing, like you can’t say no to her adorable face.
Photo of author’s cat. Taken by author.

Do you have any love songs that make you think of specific people?

When I hear certain songs, they remind me of certain crushes. I don’t have a song for every guy I fell for, but I have it for a number of them. The song might have been an earworm when I was infatuated with them.

Just for fun, I’ll share some songs and the crushes I associated with them.

I call them my “queer” crushes, not because they were all queer (unfortunately), but my crushes on them were definitely queer. Let’s get it on!

Taylor Swift’s “You Belong With Me”

In Taylor Swift’s song, a girl is in love with her neighbour, who is in an unhappy relationship with a cheerleader. The girl next door (played by Taylor) feels like she is the one who understands him, they have things in common, so what is he doing with that other girl?

The song is catchy, heartbreaking, and sweet. But in my case, I was deluded and living in my head. In my first year of university, I met a handsome Thai guy. Let’s call him Denny. At the time, I believed I was a cisgender heterosexual woman.

--

--

Sieran Lane
Prism & Pen

A queer trans writer and therapist. I help fiction writers complete their novels. Let's connect! https://the-transgender-therapist.ck.page/fiction-writing