Police States and Police Brutality

A Prism & Pen writing prompt

James Finn
Prism & Pen

--

Photo by deagreez licensed from Adobe Stock

I’m watching the closing arguments of the Derek Chauvin trial right now, every shred of my soul screaming for justice, screaming for Chauvin to be convicted and spend the rest of his life in prison for the brutal racist murder of George Floyd. As I watch, I’m thinking about all the racist police brutality that has filled my newsfeeds in the last days.

Not only are cops in the U.S. often brutal racists, but they seem intent on enforcing police-state reality on the nation. Nowhere is this more obvious than in how cops humiliated and violently bullied journalists covering protests near Minneapolis Friday night.

P&P’s new two-week prompt starts today

We LGBTQ people, in the United States and all over the world, are often too familiar with police brutality and police-state tactics. I experienced some of it directly during my years of street activism, though others have been harmed more than I.

This week’s prompt is Police States and Police Brutality.

Prism & Pen prompts are usually a little more artsy and general than this one. But police states, police brutality, and racism impact LGBTQ people everywhere. We in the U.S. have a lot to write about as our nation grapples with white nationalism…

--

--

James Finn
Prism & Pen

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.