Queer Family Pets: Comfort During Calamity?

A Prism & Pen writers prompt

James Finn
Prism & Pen

--

Images licensed from Adobe Stock

If you follow the prolific and amazingly empathetic writer Tre L. Loadholt, you’ve likely read about her friend Jernee, the lovely little dog who shares her space and warms her heart. My friends always hear (a little too?) much about my elderly english pointer Sam and his faithful young lieutenant Elsa the Beautiful, a rather vain but very sweet cat.

In a comment to last Sunday’s Prism & Pen newsletter, Tre suggested we focus on pets in our new writing prompt:

A prompt topic: LGBTQ+ Community Pet Owners, How Are Your Pets a Comfort to You During the World’s Backpedaling Toward Us?

She explained why in a way that resonated deeply with me. “This has been on my mind, and I know I cannot be the only person who is in need of having (insert your pet’s name here) Jernee’s presence during what seems like the most degrading period to be alive and a part of the LGBTQ+ community. She is not only my emotional support on so many levels, she is keeping me calm when all I truly want to do is fall apart.”

Queer Family Pets: Comfort During Calamity?

I’ve head a lot of stereotypes about queer folks and pets. You probably know the one about lesbians owning cats, or gay men preferring…

--

--

James Finn
Prism & Pen

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.