Queer Christmas and Other Holiday Havoc

Queer People Love Christmas, but Texas Pastors Bar Us from City Parade

This is not a ‘War on Christmas’ story. Is it?

James Finn
Prism & Pen
Published in
7 min readDec 6, 2022

--

Photo of drag queen celebrating Christmas licensed from Adobe Stock. Drag queens barred from a Texas Christmas parade this year had previously participated in clothing as modest as this.

If you think saying Happy Holidays is a problem, I disagree.

But I don’t care much. I love Christmas! I’ll joyfully wish you a Merry Christmas if I know you celebrate it — even though I’m no longer a Christian and even though I love … well, sharing love with folks who celebrate Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, Diwali, or whatever fills you with light and joy.

When I was a little boy, NOTHING was more joyous and magical than our small-town Christmas parade. I didn’t know the high school marching band was a touch off-key. I didn’t care that our lights and glitz were cheesy by big-city standards.

All I cared was that I could feel the love, see the light.

Christmas meant my adult family put aside differences and came together in a spirit of … some unnamed magic I had no words for. When Santa Claus brought up the parade’s tail in a big red fire engine, how my heart pounded! Christmas magic was enough to thrill me to the suspension of disbelief.

--

--

James Finn
Prism & Pen

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.