A Trans Person Got Nasty When I Said NO to Dating Them — I’m Trans Myself

How fluid is sexual orientation?

Sieran Lane
Prism & Pen

--

A super cute grey, very fluffy tabby cat sitting on a rug, staring at the camera.
Author’s cat. Photo taken by author.

Have you ever experienced something so alarming, that it makes you question your long-held beliefs?

And sometimes, it hits you right before Valentine’s Day.

I was in a transgender and nonbinary support group on Discord. Nonbinary is having a gender identity that is neither “male” nor “female.” One member was a demigirl (a nonbinary person who identifies as part-female. Demigirls were usually assigned male at birth.) Let’s call her Rebecca.

Rebecca shared a cute meme where a guy went down on his knees, offering a Gengar plushie to a smiling girl. (Gengar is a ghost type Pokemon.) The caption read: Girls don’t want rings. They want Gengar squishmallows!

That was adorable. Pokemon has been my favorite fandom since I was eight. I’m 32 now. Gengar is my favorite pokemon, too. So I took a picture of my two Gengar plushies, as a show of solidarity.

Two purple spiky plushies with red eyes and a wide grin. They are Gengar plushies.
Photo taken by author

Rebecca was pleased and asked me where I bought them. I answered and we chatted for a bit.

--

--

Sieran Lane
Prism & Pen

A queer trans writer and therapist. I help fiction writers complete their novels. Let's connect! https://the-transgender-therapist.ck.page/fiction-writing