She

or, “The Ballad of Annabelle Rose

Annabelle Rose
Prism & Pen
2 min readFeb 10, 2021

--

We used to play together
I thought that we were friends
Then you locked me away
With your toys and childish things

Remembering your look of shock
As they slammed the door shut
Etched into my consciousness
The embarrassment, the shame

I won’t lie, it hurt so much
Knowing you wished me gone
A whole part of you they couldn’t allow
How could you just go on??

But you did, for the longest time
And I’m honestly proud of you
You did the best you could
Even though you knew

Something was absent
That should be there
Outside, a person
But inside, bare

You forgot; as I sat
Day to day, year to year,
Crying in the dark
For memories gone, time lost

I could only watch through the keyhole
As our life unfolded
Seeing your joys, happiness,
Tears and sorrow
Unable to effect,
Just a splinter in our mind

Then one day a knock
Out of nowhere
And a sweet voice said “Hello?
Is someone there….?”

“Yes!” I screamed
“Please let me out!”
Then a pause while you thought
Remembered, then whispered:
“Are you real?”

“Of course!” I screamed, banging louder
“I was there at the start!
You just forgot is all,
Please, PLEASE let me out!”

Slowly the door opened
Just a crack at first
The rush of fresh air
Gave me renewed hope

Then your face appeared
And it was mine
Because of course it was
You were me all the time

We cried and embraced
Then laughed and made peace
“I’m so sorry” you said
“That I locked you away
They drove us apart,
Told me you were weak
But I know that’s not true now
Because here you are still
Can you ever forgive me?”
I smiled and just said, “Shoosh, you”

“What happened is the past
We’re together now
We have time to grow
Into something new
And better than we were
They’ll never see us coming
Nothing can stop us now.”

--

--

Annabelle Rose
Prism & Pen

Annabelle Rose is a proud trans woman who very occasionally writes about her experiences of growing up and living as transgender. Published in Prism & Pen.