LGBTQIA+

Starting T Really Doesn’t Feel Like A Decision

The safety barriers I created

KP_the_writer
Prism & Pen
Published in
6 min readSep 28, 2021

--

Adapted by the author from images by Jazella and Justcos from Pixabay

Therapy Time

It’s that time of the fortnight again. I flip my laptop to tablet mode because the genius who created it put the camera at the bottom of the screen and that’s just awkward. I find the starred email, click the zoom link, and then I wait. I can’t help but smile when their face fills the screen, not just because, let’s face it, I have a bit of a crush on them, but also because I’ve been approved to start testosterone and I have a bit to unpack before the next step. After the standard pleasantries including my usual weirdness that presents itself this time as an insistence that something about him is different but I don’t know what (did he cut his hair?), I share what happened this week:

  1. My bloodwork was fine and I was approved for T
  2. I had an epiphany on the back of our last session that I don’t need to search for clues, it was always just me (more on that in another article)
  3. I landed a 6-month pet-sit and for reasons, I was able to be honest with the homeowner about my transgender status

It was a big fortnight.

They do that thing where they look up and to my left — seeking an intuitive question to ask. Of…

--

--

KP_the_writer
Prism & Pen

🏳️‍🌈 LGBTQ2SIA+ Writer✍️[BMediaComm, MA(Writing) Swin.] First Nations, agender (they/them). Top Writer 🏆 LGBTQ, Diversity.