This is What Stereotypes & LGBTQ Truth (Hiding) Mean to Me

Stereotypes Make It Seem Demisexuals Have a Choice

Not Picky, Not an Old Romantic, and Not Prudish

Matt Mason
Prism & Pen
Published in
4 min readMar 24, 2024

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

“Demisexual” is a powerful and liberating label for me. It’s a word that gave me so much relief and calm. It provided a sense of understanding and came with a whole load of self-kindness that replaced past self-loathing for not fitting in. And yet I get lots of comments like this:

“Most people prefer some sort of emotional connection before jumping into bed with someone?”

I groaned when I saw that reply on a recent Threads post about the difference between the choice to wait for a bond before you sleep with someone, and not experiencing sexual attraction until you have that bond. It came as some kind of Gotcha, like many of these posts do, for maybe the five hundredth time since I came out as demisexual in September 2022.

--

--

Matt Mason
Prism & Pen

Creatively curious lifelong writer. I use Medium to discuss asexuality, childfree living, Doctor Who, and sometimes even politics - not all of it serious.