The Bruce Jenner Effect

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen
Published in
4 min readFeb 2, 2022

--

Shocking friends and family

https://www.thesun.co.uk/

Someone, who has known me for 30 years and is supportive of my transitioning, told me the other day that if/when I go public it will absolutely shock friends and family. He called it the “Gold Card” of all reveals. The reason, he said, was that was for my entire life I have been the poster child of what being a MAN is supposed to be about, a decent looking guy, competitive in sports, popular with women, a tough guy when needed, a guy that always had the other guys back, participating in rugged sports, providing for his family, handy with tools, a good husband and a good dad. People regularly ask for advice and I have coached children on and off the field.

A Man’s man …

But everything that I did, I did because I wanted to, never to prove how manly I was. I never felt the need. Frankly, anything I did, with the exception of impregnating my wife, any woman could have done.

So now that I know that I was born transgender, technically a transgender woman, have I become less of a person? I have thought long and hard about my life as I have dissected it completely and then mulled over it for the last five years.

Who am I?

Do I need to physically fully transition to be that person?

--

--

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.