The Gender Sliding Scale: Gender-fluid

I always feel like I’m trying to get to a place where my gender is fixed.

Anna B.
Prism & Pen

--

Non-binary or genderqueer is an umbrella term for gender identities that are neither male nor female. ‌Identities that are outside the gender binary. Non-binary identities fall under the transgender umbrella, since non-binary people typically identify with a gender that is different from their assigned sex, though some non-binary individuals do not even consider themselves to be transgender.

Non-binary people may identify as an intermediate or separate third gender, identify with more than one gender, no gender (agender), or have a fluctuating gender identity (gender-fluid). — (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia).

  • Gender-fluid.

Gender-fluid makes so much sense to me now. This week has been a tough one. My mind has been bouncing all over the place. Just when I think I have my gender in check, I feel differently about it.

I was in peak confusion when I had to make a trip to Chicago earlier this week. I woke up and had breakfast, took a shower, and went to get dressed. That’s where things got weird. I planned on wearing my women’s casual clothing. The big city of Chicago is pretty liberal and open minded for the most part. The Governor of Illinois, JB…

--

--

Anna B.
Prism & Pen

I have gender dysphoria, and I’m doing the best I can with what I've got. Hope for the best! Fingers Crossed!!