The Last Moment with the Woman I Thought I’d Marry

When we parted ways that day I didn’t realize it would be a “goodbye forever”

Eleni Stephanides
Prism & Pen

--

Photo by author

At the time I didn’t know the moment was our last. I had little reason to.

I’d just returned home from brunch with my parents. We’d eaten at a local Ethiopian spot, owned by a kind lady who always greeted me with a warm smile. She’d serve up a platter of lentils with Injera and we’d chat about our cats — hers Rainbow, mine Mickey and Callie.

S was napping in my bed, covered in the bedsheets like a beautiful taquito. She’d stayed out late with a few of my friends the night before. Unable to stifle my yawns for any longer than I did, I’d left the gathering early to get some much-needed sleep.

I lay next to her now, wrapping her gently in my arms. She turned over, put her hand against one of mine.

“Hi, Babe,” I whispered.

“Hi,” she murmured back sleepily.

“How are you feeling?” I asked.

“Tired,” she said. “How was your brunch?”

“We feasted. I brought home leftovers. They’re in the fridge if you get hungry later,” I offered.

She thanked me, said she was glad we’d had a nice time.

--

--

Eleni Stephanides
Prism & Pen

LGBTQ+ writer and Spanish interpreter who enjoys wandering through nature, reading fiction and mental health content, speaking Spanish, and petting cats.