The New Netflix Miniseries “Eric” Hit Me All Over

From police corruption and homophobia to addiction and beyond, “Eric” will be with you long after you finish watching it.

Dan Hanley
Prism & Pen

--

“Eric” promotional piece. Photo credit: Netflix

The Netflix trailer I watched mentioned a case of a missing child in New York City in the 1980’s. I was interested enough to begin the first episode.

My husband and I were on vacation and had plenty of time. He became more and more interested as the first episode continued.

We have now just finished the last episode and I am filled with emotions.

This miniseries is a must see, especially if you enjoy a good crime drama and have had any interest in poverty, homelessness, racism, HIV/AIDS, anti-gay bigotry, police corruption, addiction, and the human experience.

It takes a couple of episodes to realize so much is going on. It seems that every few minutes something new is presented, and that a way you may have perceived someone or something is now different.

I will do my best not to ruin future episodes for you. I want your experience to be as filled with surprise as ours was.

One of the lead characters is Detective Michael Ledroit, played by McKinley Belcher III. He becomes my favorite character.

--

--

Dan Hanley
Prism & Pen

I write about nonprofits, fundraising, recruiting, self-care. Human rights, domestic violence, borders, and refugee focused. Sober. Vegan. https://altrui.org/