Touring with ‘Annie,’ a Monster Cast Member Triggered Meth Memories

Slammed: a Memoir — Chapter 13 Part 3

John Cormier
Prism & Pen

--

Photo by Ground Picture via Shutterstock

About four months into the national tour of Annie, I was spending some time alone in the hotel room Rafael and I shared. He walked in looking visibly annoyed.

“Hey, wasn’t expecting you back so soon,” I greeted him.

Good thing I was only reading.

“Yeah, we were talking about maybe trying to see a movie, but Logan and Anika started making out again. It was awkward, so I just left.”

“Wait … making out?”

He froze for a moment before his entire demeanor dropped. “Fuck.”

“Again?” I asked.

He whispered something in Spanish under his breath before turning around and saying, “Yeah. They didn’t… they didn’t want you to know.”

This was a lot of information coming to me at once. Logan and Anika were sleeping together? Logan was cheating on his wife. I really didn’t know how to feel about any of it.

“So… again?’” I repeated. “How long have they been…” I let the end of the question hang…

--

--

John Cormier
Prism & Pen

An actor all my life, I hold an MFA in Acting from the New School for Drama. My writing was born of a need to understand my meth addiction.