(How) Have LGBTQ Film & Literature Shaped You?

Transgender YouTubes and Movies That Always Make Me Feel Good

My personally curated recommendations

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen
Published in
3 min readMar 9, 2024

--

https://www.pexels.com/@pixabay/

Being transgender is a constant battle against yourself and the world around you. It seems like you are always under attack. It is so easy to find the haters everywhere — on TV, in movies, the internet, global news media, religious sermons, and political speeches. There are times that I feel desperate for something that will just make me feel like I am not alone with all of this hate.

When I saw Jim post this Prism & Pen writer’s prompt, I realized I was not alone in this ugly transphobic jungle and that others needed to feel good too. I decided to share a very short list of movies and YouTubes that I hope make others smile as much as I do every time I watch these these stories. They help keep me sane!

Enjoy.

Girl

I always wanted to be a ballerina and it brings me joy to know this transgender girl got her chance…

--

--

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.