Wedding Season is a Little Hard for a Black Queer Person Like Myself

I wonder if I’ll get to experience such a happy start to marriage

Kamille S.
Prism & Pen

--

floral canopy outdoors
Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

Last night, I had a dream. I was walking around my old college campus and ran into some peers. One of them in particular recently got married so I ran into her and her husband. And internally, instead of feeling happy for them, I felt jealous.

When I woke up, I started thinking about how, in the last six months alone, three of my former college friends have gotten married in nice, white traditional weddings. And three more have gotten engaged. And while I’m in a happy relationship with my partner, I wonder if I’ll ever get the same bliss.

I know it’s not their fault that they’re straight and white, and all coincidentally Christian, but I wish that those weren’t the ingredients needed to plan the perfect wedding of your dreams.

When I, a Black lesbian, marry my Black queer partner one day, my family will probably not be in attendance, and we will pay for everything on our own. Our attendees will be mostly Queer people of color (POC), people who have told us since day one that we have to get married because they want to go to a wedding. I probably won’t wear a dress, or at least not a traditional one.

--

--

Kamille S.
Prism & Pen

Recent college grad trying to get back into writing for my own sanity. Leave a comment if you like what you see :)