Welcome to a Tour of My Very Deep Transgender Closet

Wading through decades of my own gender ignorance

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

--

https://www.pexels.com/@alexazabache/

Welcome to my closet!

Before we proceed on the tour, you need to be prepared for a very unsteady and unfamiliar experience. It was the same for me on my first tour.

So please watch your step.

It can be very treacherous.

Let me attach a safety rope to your waist for protection and please don’t forget your flashlight and wear your boots and safety helmet, we will be wading through some really deep, dark ignorance.

Let me know if I’m not loud enough for those in the back, but that shouldn’t be a problem. This closet is large enough to cause an echo.

I am now in my fifth year of gender discovery which starts with the very shocking realization that I am transgender. Unearthing that fact triggered a series of explosive suicidal panic attacks followed by a relentless attack of gender dysphoria. It spared neither my heart, mind, nor my soul.

That discovery literally blew open the door of my transgender closet.

Be careful as you walk through the doorway. The explosion caused numerous splinters of deep social denial, shame, and guilt. But have no worries, there is no chance of that

--

--

Emma Holiday
Prism & Pen

After decades of denial I finally answered the question “What’s wrong with me?” The answer is “Nothing”. I am transgender and I am OK.