What the Waffle House Index Says about Target Removing Pride Displays

The Target Trans and Queer Acceptance Index

Piddling Piddles
Prism & Pen

--

Target store front
Photo by Shabaz Usmani on Unsplash

I remember when Pride products began to become normalized and readily available in North America in the mid-2010s.

At the time, a deeply closeted queer trans girl, I felt a strange pull towards the numerous displays I now found myself passing during Pride Month. I never dared approach or consider them beyond a sneaky side-eye as I moseyed on by.

Much of my life already consisted of balancing how others perceived me, my aversion to talking about romance an apparent sign of potential gayness to many. To associate with any kind of Pride merch would come as a quiet admission to a lot of people in my life.

And the last thing my anxiety-ridden self needed was the fear of being questioned on anything related to gender or sexuality.

Discreet looking was great! Touching was a no-no.

Neat, I thought, it’s good to see more acceptance.

And, out of all those stores, one stood miles above the rest. A favourite of Canadians crossing the border for a day of American shopping (common for many of us), the displays were always plentiful. The brand’s approach to Pride even earned them a loose association with the LGBTQ+…

--

--

Piddling Piddles
Prism & Pen

Just your typical burnt-out, mid-twenties transfemme queer. I write about anything and everything, from autism, queerness, storytelling, and my own experiences.