When I Call Myself Queer

A Poem

Esther Spurrill-Jones
Prism & Pen
Published in
1 min readApr 20, 2022

--

A parhelion, or “sun dog”, rainbow colours peeking through the clouds.
Image by Cornelia Gatz from Pixabay

I am not normal, I am not regular;
I am different, unusual, distorted, awry;
I’m the movement you catch at the edge of your eye;
I am something to fear.
That’s what I mean when I call myself queer.

I am unique, amazing, and odd;
I am special, bizarre, astonishing, rare;
I’m the shadow at twilight when nothing is there;
I am here.
That’s what I mean when I call myself queer.

I am a crafter, stealing bits from those who came before;
I make something new from what I take;
I’m the surprise in a box of bran flakes;
I am cheer.
That’s what I mean when I call myself queer.

I am curious, surprising, and strange;
I’m the aurora borealis, the northern lights;
I’m the parhelion dogging the sun, faded rainbow of ice;
I am weird.
That’s what I mean when I call myself queer.

Esther learned to read when she was four years old, and began writing shortly thereafter. She is a queer Christian poet, crafting with words to create art and music.

Enjoy my work? Buy me a coffee!

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
Prism & Pen

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.