When the FBI Polygraphed Me to Ask If I Was Gay

Last vestige of the Lavender Scare

James Finn
Prism & Pen

--

“Demonstrating the administration of the polygraph,” by the Federal Bureau of Investigation on Wikimedia Commons. Public domain photo.

The FBI agents didn’t shine a hot light in my eyes, but they might as well have. The examination room was so small and stifling I felt like I was being grilled in a scene out of a bad movie.

Agent: “You told us during pre-examination that being mean to your sister as a child was the thing you are most ashamed of in life. Were you telling the truth?”

Me: (struggling to keep my breathing under control) Yes.

Agent: “Have you ever had contact with an enemy agent of the United States that you have not reported to the proper authorities?”

Me: (relieved to get an easy question) No.

Agent: Do you love your country?

Me: (relieved again) Yes.

Agent: Have you ever had sexual contact with another male, no matter how slight?

Me: (heart racing, sweat running down my forehead as I lie) No.

Agent: Have you ever had sexual contact, no matter how slight, with any male member of the U.S. military?

Me: (struggling to remain still as instructed, knowing I was close to vomiting, still lying) No.

--

--

James Finn
Prism & Pen

James Finn is an LGBTQ columnist, a former Air Force intelligence analyst, an alumnus of Act Up NY, and an agented but unpublished novelist.