‘Wynonna Earp’ Helped Me Come Out to My Friends

How Wayhaught told me it would be okay

Taylor Woods
Prism & Pen
3 min readAug 14, 2020

--

SYFY, Waverly Kisses Nicole

Twitter was my gateway drug to Wynonna Earp. My eyeballs were starting to dry out from staring at the computer screen all night. The glow seemed extra bright in my empty bedroom. I saw one GIF of Katherine Barrell and Dominique Provost-Chalkley on screen and knew I had to investigate. It did not matter that I should be resting up for my big move to college the next day. Was it really a feminine couple positively represented and insured by the writers on a mainstream television channel? I could not believe it. Before this, I had been settling with token gays, death of the gays, and gay best friend tropes.

The characters of Waverly and Nicole were so relevant to me. They had a realistically hesitant development. Waverly’s interest in women was new. Nicole seemed confident in her sexuality. Waverly struggles with her truth. Nicole supports her. The list goes on. It was like watching myself in Waverly while seeing where I wanted to be in Nicole.

I spent many late nights watching and learning about these characters. Twitter was full of information and edits. Fellow fans were quick to recommend pieces of fanfiction and other Wynonna Earp accounts. The show consumed me. My real-world friends neglected to understand my obsession. They found the show funny and interesting, and they watched new episodes with me. I ignored their chill attitudes though; they did not know what it felt like to finally find representation at age 19.

Photo by Diego Rezende on Unsplash

Interviews, convention panels, and behind the scenes footage led me to get a sense of Barrell and Provost-Chalkley. Neither of them was out, yet they clearly acknowledged the importance of their roles as queer women. As I watched them dive into these characters that I deeply valued, I realized what I was denying myself by staying closeted.

Three of my friends and I were walking to the campus cafeteria for lunch. A red, two-door Jeep Wrangler rolled by. It was almost identical to Waverly Earp’s vehicle. I pointed it out. One friend commented that the girl driving looked gay. “Must be a lesbian thing,” said another friend. I smiled and said, “I like it.”

Almost a year later, Katherine Barrell came out. Then Dominique Provost-Chalkley came out too. The show has earned itself a fourth season (airing now). Fans of Wynonna Earp make up one of the most supportive and dedicated communities I have ever experienced. I will forever appreciate this series and cast because I have experienced the power of their comfort.

--

--

Taylor Woods
Prism & Pen

is a college-aged nerd who doesn’t know where to put her writing or what to write about.