--

Which privacy-preserving method should I use?? A tentative decision tree for the privacy-conscious programmer.

After getting asked over and over again about which privacy-preserving methods to use in which situations, I decided to make a decision tree to help researchers, architects, and programmers with the process of creating privacy-preserving algorithms.

This tree is still tentative, and I have yet to incorporate certain excellent suggestions I’ve been given (e.g., Prof. Sergey Gorbunov pointed out that the topmost nodes should ask about expected threat models).

I welcome community input and suggestions for improvements. Of course, any suggestions that are integrated into future iterations will be appropriately credited.

--

--

Patricia Thaine
Privacy-Preserving Natural Language Processing

Co-Founder and CEO of Private AI (www.private-ai.ca). PhD Candidate in Comp Sci at the University of Toronto working on privacy/security applications for NLP.