UNVEILING MY 23 CONFESSIONS FROM 2023

OPEN CONFESSIONS ARE GOOD FOR SOUL-SCOTTISH PROVERB

NOOR DAHRI
Private Curator
4 min readDec 31, 2023

--

Photo by Shalone Cason on Unsplash

365 days, each distinct from the last, form the fabric of our lives. We all aspire to seize each day, weaving moments into a collage of memories. Yet, our days refuse the predictability of a straight line; they dance as an erratic graph, a wave of crests and troughs, moments of triumphs and trials.

At this time, every dawn brings forth a fresh lesson. Within the constraints of 24 hours, we work ,eat and stay occupied in tasks and hardships .

Yet, within this hustle, there’s an elusive truth — we exist, but do we truly live?

With strictly structured routines, we scatter ourselves into compartments, allocating fragments to work, responsibilities, and chores. We navigate day-to-day survival, but how often do we embrace the essence of living?

Sometimes, we find moments to confide our truths to others, unveiling our innermost thoughts about the world around us. It’s in these vulnerable exchanges that we connect, transcend, and share a fragment of our souls with another being.

Sometimes we open up ourselves , sometimes we undo the restrictions and freely express ourselves.

And we call these expressions the confessions .

Perhaps within these confessions lies the doorway to a richer existence, a space where honesty breathes life into our interactions.

Most of the times these interactions are with our very own selves, seldom we open up with the world .

You know ? When the year begins everyone thinks of resolutions , new beginnings, new to do lists !!

Have you ever thought of ending the year with confessions ?

CONFESSIONS OF YOU WITH YOU?

Lets see if we connect on confessions , if I were YOU or if YOU were me we would have some confessions . Here are some which I have expressed so that you might relate and check if you really connect with these confessions.

Photo by Ben Robbins on Unsplash

Do you know what you went through the whole year , have you shared your thoughts on what you learnt this year , Have you been expressive about the secrets which you think are the secrets but might be the life lessons for many?

NO?

Check these 23 confessions from my 2023 which might be yours as well !

Do you confess ?

Yes i confess,

  1. I confess that I started this year with great zeal and enthusiasm but ending it on a low spirited note
  2. I confess I was a little slow this year
  3. I confess that I was wrong when I couldn’t say NO to those people who didn’t deserve my yes
  4. I confess there were times when my wallet felt lighter, yet I chose to carry on without revealing.
  5. I confess I bear the sting of wounds inflicted by my very closed ones .
  6. I confess I faced deep struggles, but I stood firm against thoughts of despair
  7. I confess I sought the help from meditation to stay away from depression
  8. I confess my attempts for various jobs , all resulting in unsuccessful endeavours
  9. I confess I worked for the better version of myself and put effort for my self improvement
  10. I confess I ate a little more than previous years but didn’t gain weight ah the funny and plus one
  11. I confess I couldn’t mark ticks on my to do list
  12. I confess I invested excessive efforts in some of my friendships which never reciprocated
  13. I confess I did not work that hard but the divine help was there , Allah supported me
  14. I confess I sinned but Allah didn’t unveil
  15. I confess I didn’t do well in exams but I passed with flying colours, again the plus one touchwood
  16. I confess I had solidarity meals at restaurants and roam around the city this year so that I can go home late and enjoy my alone time
  17. I confess I missed my childhood
  18. I confess I yearn for those carefree days devoid of the responsibilities.
  19. I confess I love to suffer alone
  20. I confess I have started sitting in the darkroom to avoid myself and have neen lately feeling well in dark
  21. I confess I was naive enough to think that all lives matter {check the gaza conflict}
  22. I confess my struggle to understand my parents, recognising the difference in our aspirations
  23. I confess I have high hopes for 2024 and I am too excited, I have planned a lot yet I pretend I don’t care.

Here is the list of confessions with which you might relate !! Are these confessions yours too? Or Have you connected with any one of these confessions ?

Yes ?

End your year your way, with your confessions, be clear with you and hope for the better tomorrow, better 2024!!

Photo by Ricardo Loaiza on Unsplash

THE END OF CONFESSION IS TO TELL THE TRUTH TO AND FOR ONESELF -J.M COETZEE

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

--

--