Trek Precision Fit

Altitude Store, Waterford, Ireland

Derek Troy
Pro Cycling

--

Trek Precision Fit — it sounds all rather grand and like something that’s going to involve a lot of computers to calculate how you should be fitted on a bike. Well miraculously it isn’t.

It is, in fact, one of the most holistic fit systems there is.

So let’s do a little background on how I came to end up in Altitude Waterford getting a Trek Precision Fit. Eamon Barrett owns what is one of Waterford’s longest-serving local bike shops with about 25 years. They've supported local clubs, events and projects over the years so it’s not about what they take out, it’s about what they put back into the community.

From my own point of view, the guys in Altitude have one thing at the forefront of everything and that is customer service. So with that in mind in the last few months Eamon and David have been looking at adding a Bike Fitting Service to their range of services. After looking at various systems, the decision was made to send David to Trek Bikes UK to learn about the Trek Precision Fit.

David checking out the adjustments to make sure each one is correct

Julian from Cycle Fit UK was the lead trainer on the course, Julian and his team are the guys that look after Trek Factory Racing Team (Formerly Radioshack). Julian looks after Fabian Cancellara for all his setup.

A high quality teacher if there ever was one.

David started the process off with a full evaluation of my fitness levels, my aims for the year, the mileage I'm doing, my physical condition. This augured well for where the Fit was going to go. I highlighted a few things, my odd sized feet, my questions about feet position.

Once I had my physical quiz completed, we moved on to a full evaluation of Flexibility and Core Strength before I was asked to return to my bike. Having taken detailed notes on my position Dave then observed me and my current position before he even thought about adjusting anything.

I could go into each individual tweak that Dave made, but we’d probably get lost in each tweak, but what I really thought was key was each change was looked at, monitored, measurements on the body taken, lasers aligned to make sure it was all perfect.

This is where I feel the holistic approach is brilliant, I wasn't just measured, a few calculations made and here was my position. Everything was make a single change and observe, check the position, check how the alignment was everywhere else. There was also a question every time, “How does that feel ?”

At no point did the process feel mechanical, each change was organic, Dave had full confidence in what he was doing — he explained what he was going to do, why he was doing it, and what effect it would have.

The process is a about 90 Minutes, and I think it’s something I will be talking to guys about in the future, I know as my training progresses I will hopefully improve my core and flexibility. It’s also worth noting that this process in not in any way linked to any specific brand of bike and is not part of the sales process from Altitude.

They've found one fit system that they think is the best available and will be offering it as a resource to the cyclist who wants to get more from their existing bike.

I’d happily recommend this store and their well trained staff to anyone. If your Local Bike Shop offers this service take them up on it. I will be racing this season and I shall let you guys know how I get on and how the fit has helped me this season.

--

--