4 Ways Stand Up Comedy Improved My Mental Health

Law Koger
Probably Overthinking
4 min readJul 28, 2021
Image by monisilvestre

I started performing stand-up comedy eleven months ago, and I’ve been ecstatic ever since. I never thought I’d be a professional comedian, traveling the world, performing in front of random people, and turning down cocaine. But in hindsight, it was bound to happen, the comedy, not the cocaine.

I’ve struggled with mental health my entire life. I have always been an avid overthinker which caused me to be an avid under doer. As a result, I’m easily overwhelmed by simple tasks like laundry or deep cleaning the bathroom. In my mind, 24 hours is not enough time for a 30-minute activity. I needed three days, two shots of liquor and Will Smith yelling positive affirmations at me from my 44 inch TV for me to get any type of tasks done.

That was until I started performing comedy. After watching Dave Chappelle get on stage and talk about real-life issues, I tried my luck. I never felt like I had the energy to be like Kevin Hart or Martin Lawrence, but I could mimic Chappelle. So I wrote things down, found an open mic, got on stage, talked about my terrible mental health, and people laughed.

Every other time after that, I bombed, but the first time was enough for me to realize there was something there. On stage, I felt as if I was honest with who I am and how I think; I just had to make it funny.

Ever since then I’ve traveled the entire country, performed in festivals, and opened for a few major comics. Here are the 4 things I’ve learned from comedy and how it has improved my mental health.

It’s Okay To Not Be Perfect

My psychiatrist told me I was crazy, and I said I want a second opinion. He said, okay, you’re ugly too.”- Rodney Dangerfield

By definition, I am a perfectionist. My girlfriend calls it a Virgo placement because I want everything done right. Comedy has changed that for me. Being a great stand-up comedian comes with trial and error. Stand-up comedy has taught me what it feels like to fail in front of people, not get a laugh, and move on.

Failure is hard because I tend to think people will remember the missed shots, but after countless amounts of bombs, I realized nobody cares! I get off stage and get ready for the next on-stage opportunity. It’s like when you post a fantastic tweet, expect it to go viral, but nobody responds. You have to laugh and think, wow, maybe I should start an onlyfans.

Gain Empathy With Jokes

“I did a radio interview; the DJ’s first question was “Who are you?” I had to think. Is this guy really deep, or did I drive to the wrong station?”- Mitch Hedberg

Empathy is the ability to share or understand the feelings of another.

To make a joke work, I have to look at it from many different angles. I need to consider every perspective. I ask questions on why this idea is funny or what am I trying to say. These questions give me an insight into my voice and who I really am.

However, the objective is to find the funny; we, comedians, are still using empathy and critical thinking to consider every perspective in hopes of finding the funny one. We all have opinions and ideas that need to be heard, but the important part is to be mindful of what touches your heart and the patterns you follow.

Laugh And Enjoy Your Surroundings

“I love people watching, especially this one woman.” — Demetri Martin

Comedians are observers. We may not have the intuition of a mother, but it’s pretty close. We not only see everything, but we put pieces together. And the more you pay attention to the world, the more you realize how ridiculous life is, and the more you’re able to enjoy it.

There was an article about a mother who posed as her daughter to test the school’s security. Some may have looked at that as insanity, but a comedian looks at that and says that’s a joke. There are jokes everywhere. We have to sit back and open our minds to the funny. I hated going to the hospital because of having to wait, so I wrote a joke about.

“Urgent Care is extremely misleading because every time I go there is a 30 minute wait. It should be called Urgent Care… sike!” — Law Koger

Humor Lightens Up Tough Situations

“I don’t get high, but sometimes I wish I did. That way, when I messed up in life, I would have an excuse. But right now, there’s no rehab for stupidity.”- Chris Rock

As a comedian, it is my right to find humor in every situation. It is not because I take any problem lightly. It’s because somebody has to do it. When you break an arm, lose a job, kill somebody, things get tough, and that’s when humor comes into play. When you can find humor in all situations, life becomes clear. We should not be chasing this weird idea of riches. We are supposed to have fun.

I’ve enjoyed my life since performing comedy; it’s as if my thoughts and opinions now have a purpose. I am no longer wondering what I will do with this idea; I write a joke, get up on stage, and talk about it. Is it easy? No, but it’s fulfilling, and to me, that’s all that matters.

--

--