What I’ve Learned Doing Stand Up Comedy Full-time

Law Koger
Probably Overthinking
4 min readDec 3, 2021
Image by andreapiacquadio_

Doing stand up comedy full-time is a dream come true, but it’s a tremendous amount of work. Most people think it’s all about being funny on stage, which is the most crucial part, but many people are unaware of the moving parts like booking the shows, traveling, and writing new jokes.

Two months ago, I quit my job as a middle school teacher and started doing stand up comedy full time. Working as a teacher allowed me to save up a little bit of money and pursue my dream of doing comedy. I’ve been working as a full-time stand-up for two months, and I’ve made $760. Is that enough to live off of? No. But it is a start, and I’m learning so much on my journey, so here are the things I’ve learned so far in doing full stand-up time.

Booking Shows

Everybody has an agent; I don’t. I can’t afford one, and there’s no need for me to have an agent right now. Of course, it would be great to have an agent reaching out to venues to get on shows, but it’s all me right now. Booking shows is a lot of work because it’s all negotiation up until I step on stage. So far, most of my bookings have come from a friend that’s seen me do comedy, or I have to reach out to a specific venue in hopes of getting a paid spot. Nothing is guaranteed, and I’m making about $50- $100 per spot doing upwards of 3–5 spots a week.

Traveling

I have been blessed with the opportunity to perform at major comedy clubs, with those clubs being less then 30 minutes from where I live. But most of the comedy shows where I perform are at bars, breweries, high schools, or retirement facilities. Breweries book me the most, and there’s good money but there is a bit of a downfall in working these rooms. A major downfall is that most of the audience have never been to a comedy show, so they don’t understand comedy etiquette. As a comic, it is my job to be engaging and some nights are better than others. Also these facilities are always 2+ hours away, so the money I’m getting paid to perform may be split in half due to gas.

Empathy

It’s weird; doing stand-up full-time, I’ve become less of a people person but more empathetic. I don’t enjoy being around a whole lot of people, but when I’m talking to a person one on one I genuinely care about their needs and try to help them in any way I can. I think this is because my money now comes from relationships. It sounds like I’m only being nice to people because they can pay me, but you have to fake it until you make it! This is the first time I understand how vital relationships are and how important it is to be nice to people because you never know if there’s an opportunity waiting for you. Man, that sounds terrible, but it’s true. And I try to be nice to everybody and so far it’s worked out for me.

Resting But Not Too Much

All together, I’ve been performing stand-up comedy for a year and three months; I’ve had great days, and I’ve had bad days. I’ve had days where I’ve booked some good shows, made some good money, and wrote a couple of great jokes. But, I’ve also had days where I haven’t booked any shows or made any money. These ups and downs have shown me how important it is to rest and reset the mind. There is a thin line between relaxing and being lazy, and you can get caught in the crosshairs of both, which is why I rely on a timer, 10-minute rule, and discipline to push myself even though I do not feel like it. Honestly, I’m forcing myself to write this article, and it feels like it sucks, but I have to start writing again.

Optimism

Optimism is the one characteristic that can change your life. I’m learning to stay in a positive space. With comedy, you will fail, but you will have chances to succeed immediately after, and I love that. Optimism is needed when you’re a creator because you never know where your next check is coming from or when it will come, but you have to believe it’ll be soon.

Being optimistic isn’t easy when you’ve struck out countless times, but it’s how you stay focused and continue to have tunnel vision throughout your journey.

I recommend reading books that talk about mindfulness and optimism. And talking to people with dreams and ideas; most people with dreams will say kind things that’ll keep you moving forward. And soon, you’ll realize that things will work out for you.

So far that’s what I’ve learned doing stand up comedy full time.

--

--