Modeling and Intuition

Katie Hatzipetros
Problem Solving in the Work Place
2 min readMar 2, 2018

Chapter five of Maxine Kamin’s book Soft Skills Revolution : A Guide for Connecting with Compassion for Trainers, Teams, and Leaders has great information on problem solving. Kamin shows a nine-step model that can be used to solve a problem and how intuition helps to solve problems.

Modeling

In my previous post I had brainstormed ideas and wrote them down on a piece of paper. I liked the feeling of organization that it had. Similar to this idea, Kamin says, “Having a model, a planned way to analyze the situation and take action, can assist a problem-solver who is overwhelmed and cannot decide where to start.”(2013) In other words, when a person is able to put their ideas in a structure and have a set step-by-step format, it can be easier for them to solve their problem.

By using this model it could make my life easier to solve a problem and figure out where to start. I can stress a little less. I am hoping to use this process in the future on a problem.

Intuition

Intuition is something that we use everyday so it is only right that we use it when solving any problems that we face. Intuition helps when making decisions because the mind is always making links to things you have already experienced to help you figure out how to deal with what you are facing now. Our minds are always processing everything that is happening and sometimes you get solutions to things out of nowhere (Kamin, 2013).

This meaning that when I solve a problem I can use my own intuition to decide what I think is right for this situation. If I use pervious knowledge of how a similar problem was solved I can choose an outcome that I think solves the problem best.

Conclusion

Overall, I feel that most times a person will use their intuition to solve the problems that are going on around them. It takes time to make out a model every time a small problem comes up. If the problem is something that is important and complicated that can affect a company greatly, then a model would be a good idea to use. These concepts have helped to show me some good ways to solve problems when I am faced with them.

Reference:

Kamin, M. (2013). Soft skills revolution: a guide for connecting with compassion for trainers, teams, and leaders. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley.

--

--