Reworking Problems

Katie Hatzipetros
Problem Solving in the Work Place
2 min readMar 3, 2018

In my last two blog posts I talked about how when faced with a problem it can be hard to find a start, but once you have found a solution it is easier to solve problems that you will face later. In Chad Bockius’ blog he talks about this idea as well and the ways that he practices and deals with solving problems. “Problem-solving, like chess, is a skill. It’s something I can get better at over time. Every time I tackle a new problem I am improving my ability to solve one down the road.”(Bockius, 2017)

Bokius has moved through jobs from intern to eventually CEO, so he has experienced different problems at all different levels of the work place. A good way he has found to deal with a problem is to work backwards. Bokius explains that, “A great way to solve any problem is to start at the end and work backward. Thinking in reverse gives our brains a chance to see things we otherwise would have missed.”(2017) This means, if I want to focus better on what the solution to my problem is I should think from the end first. Doing this helps to slow down my thinking enough to see a solution to the problem I might not have seen if I had started from the beginning.

Another way to easier solve a problem is to pick it apart and think of the solution in a new way. “The idea is to take everything apart until we have the individual pieces. Once finished it opens up our minds to new ways things can go together.”(Bokius, 2017) This means that when I look at a problem I should break it down to different pieces. If I try this idea then it can make it easier to narrow down a solution to fix the problem at hand. I can take the different parts of the problem and fit them together to make solution.

I am hoping to use these soon to deal with any future problems. They are both great ways to find solutions that are best for each problem.

Reference:

Bockius, C. (2017, December 21). Life lessons on problem solving [Blog post]. Retrieved from https://byrslf.co/life-lessons-on-problem-solving-5d2e7b720e99

--

--