“I want to play with my workbench”

Bobby Moss
Processing Life
Published in
2 min readJul 24, 2014
Jaxon_Workbench

After Jaxon’s birthday party a couple of weeks ago, we gave him the pick of what we’d do as a family. “I want to play with my new workbench.” Not wanting to stay at home, we attempted other suggestions: park, beach, train to The Bean, etc. “No, I want to play with my new workbench with dad.”

So Jeannette took Baylee for a bike ride and the little man and I stayed home to play with the present he’d gotten. While setting it up I asked, “You could have gone anywhere, why did you pick this Jaxon?”

He smiled and said, “To have fun with you” (cue your “awwww”).

My new 5yr old gave me a moment, but he also gave me a good reminder: summer is full of many options, but I have to make time for Daddy.

When it comes to someone’s relationship with God we all need that reminder, don’t we? We need to remind ourselves to make time for our Father, especially in the summer when there are so many fun, good options. For some, it might mean getting in more alone time with Him. For others, it might mean making worship services more of a priority. Maybe, for some, it means quality time with others from your church community to talk about God & life.

What does “I want to be with Daddy” look like for you? I know I really needed this spiritual reminder with all of the ups & downs in my life this last couple months.

This originally was part of our church’s quarterly update newsletter (link HERE).

--

--

Bobby Moss
Processing Life

chicago husband daddy jesusfollower prof learner pastor gamer reader creative starwarsjunkie messup redeemed