Restrained Freedom

Bobby Moss
Processing Life
Published in
2 min readJul 4, 2014
Screen Shot 2013-07-04 at 1.24.09 PM

Typing “What is freedom?” into a Google search brings the following:

1. The power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants without hindrance or restraint.
2. Absence of subjection to foreign domination or despotic (oppressive) government.

July 4th historically points to the second definition, however today we celebrate and cling to the first. Unfortunately, the first definition can be a fairy tale, an aspirational desire not grounded in reality. We want it to be true, however we act the hypocrite the moment we utter, “You can’t tell me what to do.”

There is always a hinderance, there is always restraint. It’s unavoidable. Speed limits hinder. “No shirt, No shoes, no service” is a hindrance. Restraint doesn’t necessarily equal oppression. But that’s the rub. At some point restraint can oppress, and therein our political conflicts are birthed.

Today I celebrate that I am not subject to oppression.
I can enjoy time with my family, even just eating hot dogs and watching fireworks.
I can worship with my church come Sunday.
I can be an advocate for those oppressed in our culture today.

Though I may or may not agree with the decisions of my government in how they handle our country, I am never restrained from doing my best to do my best.

I am always free to do what I can.
I am always free to have integrity.
I am always free to lend a hand.
I am always free to do my best.

Once I lose sight of that then I am indeed oppressed…by myself.

reposted from last year

--

--

Bobby Moss
Processing Life

chicago husband daddy jesusfollower prof learner pastor gamer reader creative starwarsjunkie messup redeemed