Read if you are hiring

Giovana Ansoain
Giovana Ansoain | Always different
3 min readOct 6, 2020
Elsa Noblet

I’ve been looking for a job as a product designer (UX/UI) for a few months now and most of the positions I find ask me to fit in a certain labeled box that I don’t know what the name is.

I know that I have many experiences that have transformed me as a person as well as a professional, many times it is not possible to add it in the position input, in the previous company field, or it doesn’t do justice to the little time that lasted the most intense and important project of all.

I understand the recruiter’s side of trying to speed up the search for the right person who puts the word x or y that they are looking for… But I also know, from my own experience, that such interesting things are left out, which eliminates many possibilities and people with different profiles. There are a lot of different skills that you can look for: personality, work style, ambition, open mind, entrepreneurship…

Everyone wants to hire differentiated people but I feel that you don’t give space to hear the complexity of each one of us, we become invisible and not filterable by simple labels taken from “How to impress recruiters” articles.

If you want to be innovative, you have to innovate all the time, especially when it comes to recruiting the people who will build the future of the company.

This text is an invitation for reflection:

Are we asking the right questions? Can we make room for a different format?

Once I hired an illustrator for an amazing project. I was looking for style, graphic skills, but I also wanted to make sure that this person could work well in the way we were organized, that she was aligned with the values of the project, and above all, that I trusted her professionalism and left her free to exercise her potential.

These things are not easy to see in a CV or application form. What did I do? I had a very open conversation with her, I showed her the project and its challenges, the impact that we could have with the result of her work and opened space for her to tell me how she would solve the challenge, what could be done and what result I could expect from her.

From this conversation, I could understand how she thinks, what her creative process is, how she organizes herself, as well as a clear vision of her possibility of delivery. Then, it was very easy for me to see if this person is who I am looking for.

That way, you can find someone that you trust, you give her responsibility and freedom, two very important things that engage and reward every employee.

Maybe you can’t expect this precision from a company that recruits thousands of people per month (although this company should value hiring as the basis of a sustainable company), but there is a lot of small/medium business losing opportunity out there. Don’t be one of them!

*This is an open channel. If you want to talk or think about a solution, let’s think together!

I write about my experiences with design, entrepreneurship, productivity, among many other things in my universe to inspire other people and make the world a little more human.

Did you like the text? Give your like!

Don’t forget to follow the publication to receive exclusive content. Add me on linkedin to stay on top of everything I put. You can also see my portfolio here!

--

--

Giovana Ansoain
Giovana Ansoain | Always different

UX/UI and Product Designer | Looking for a job in Munich 🇩🇪