2 Small Changes to My Obsidian Daily Note Brought Life into Focus

Simplify your planning system, focus on the essentials

Ellane W
Produclivity

--

Photos by Photo by Jeremy Bishop and Quang Nguyen Vinh from Pexels, combined by Author. Click here to see how I made this image.

My daily note in Obsidian has a lot of happy-making goal and planner information packed into it.

This is a good thing, right?

Yes, when dates and destinations are foremost on my mind, but it’s an almighty distraction when all I want to focus on is the daily log — the thoughts, ideas and information I record as life happens.

The most compelling reason for entering everything into a daily note is the reduction of friction in recording thoughts, ideas, and information.

Distracted by the bigger picture, I was looping around in circles of interesting, at the expense of that moment’s important.

Thanks to a Logseq-inspired outlining epiphany, I solved the problem by adjusting section headings, allowing the planner and goals sections to be hidden under the date header. In making these improvements I followed two principles that every effective knowledge worker needs to master:

  • Simplify
  • Focus on the essentials

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans