Losing Things in Obsidian’s Daily Notes? Try a Weekly Log Instead

Daily notes on a weekly page help me find what I’m looking for

Ellane W
Produclivity

--

The word WEEKLY is written in big type at an angle overlaying the word “daily”, which is written in smaller type, repeated many times
Image by Author

Do you use the daily note in Obsidian as a catch-all for notes, thoughts, and ideas?

If so, I’ll assume it’s because you like the simplicity of having a place where any and everything worth remembering can be written down. It’s good to have a space where you don’t have to think about where to put things or how to organise them, right? It’s an approach that can help you avoid overwhelm.

I used a separate file for each daily note for years for precisely that reason. So what happened? Why change?

In this article I’m going to show you how the weekly log I’m using now retains the best features of my precious daily notes, while enhancing and simplifying information retrieval.

I’ll list the principles of digital self-reliance that guided the design of the weekly log, and describe the four sections of the template.

It Ain’t All Rosy in Daily Note Land

Writing everything under today’s date, in one place, was never the problem. I’m doing that under my new system too; just differently.

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans