Bye-Bye Notion, My Obsidian Dashboard is Humming!

And I’m keeping it simple — no tricky bits needed

Ellane W
Produclivity

--

Car interior showing the steering wheel with Obsidian logo in the centre and dashboard. Purple outerspace star image shows in the windscreen and GPS.
Photo of car by Mike from Pexels, purple star background by Miriam Espacio from Pexels, Obsidian logo courtesy obsidian.md. Images combined by Author. Click here to see how I made this image.

No matter the app they live in, the wonderful thing about life-dashboards is how delightfully different they look from person to person.

I like exploring what other people come up with, but only when their board sings in tune with their values, and the best life they’re carving out for themselves.

Straight copies of other people’s work are nothing more than well-stitched clothing tailored to someone else’s measurements. It won’t fit and feel right until it’s been polished by the tumbling and turning demands of your needs, habits, and routines.

My Dashboard helps me see what is, so I can choose the future I want to create.

In this story I’ll be describing how my Obsidian dashboard has grown since the last time I wrote about it . I’ll show you how I added a weather widget, an automatically updating Focus section, and pretty icons to make my this plain-text-based page a truly useful navigational tool.

The Short Leap From Notion to Obsidian

My first experience with Notion was a heady, blissful revelation, but our breakup was inevitable.

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans