Ellane W
Produclivity
Published in
3 min readAug 28, 2023

--

PLAIN TEXT; PAPER, LESS — PRODUCTIVITY DIGEST

PTPL 067: My EDC is a Mother Ship and a Compact Explorer Pod (Photos)

PLUS Using habit fields to program your surroundings for focused work

Plain text, Paper, Less (PTPL) Productivity Digest, text-based image by the Author

Welcome! I’m Ellane, and this is a once-a-week summary of things that are helping me to simplify and future-proof my digital-analog workflow.

Habit Fields: shape your environment so that it can shape you

Thanks to Josh Spector’s For The Interested newsletter, I’ve learned a new term for a phenomenon I’ve been aware of for years. Habit Fields are the behavioural associations we make with the things and places around us.

Great suggestion: don’t relax with social media in your work chair! Instead, deliberately get up and move to a designated down-time spot. This way you’ll be more successful at training yourself to stay focused when at your work station.

This somewhat obliquely reminds me of the time travel trick I use to help me get things done when I’m having trouble being motivated: rephrase the task as if it was already done.

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans