PLAIN TEXT; PAPER, LESS — PRODUCTIVITY DIGEST

PTPL 075: Plain Text, Or Paper Budgeting Templates? The Experiment Begins

PLUS There’s one teeny problem with FKM task management

Ellane W
Produclivity
Published in
4 min readOct 23, 2023

--

Plain text, Paper, Less (PTPL) Productivity Digest number 075, text-based image by Author

Welcome! I’m Ellane, and this is a once-a-week summary of things that are helping me to simplify and future-proof my digital-analog workflow.

Productivity report: FKM task management is going great!

The one-file-per-task system I wrote about last week is still going very well. And by very well I mean it gets out the way and allows me to see what I have to do, with all the information I need to do it.

One thing with this system I haven’t yet been able to solve: how to view long file names on a small screen (iPhone) without them being cut off. I want to see file names handled in other apps the way Obsidian presents them: as multiple lines when more than one line is required to show the full name of each file.

It seems that every app that’s not Obsidian shows the names of files living inside iCloud in the default manner; one line per file. A big thank you to Obsidian for choosing to wrap them. Really though, can’t other iOS apps do the same? Is it a difficult thing to implement? Come on, iA…

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans