PLAIN TEXT; PAPER, LESS — PRODUCTIVITY DIGEST

PTPL 091: I’m Using One Big Text File in Obsidian as a Digital Bullet Journal

It’s a perfect companion to my discbound paper notebook

Ellane W
Produclivity
Published in
4 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

Plain text, Paper, Less (PTPL) Productivity Digest, text-based image by Author

This week I talk about how using a physical notebook is shaping and simplifying my (Markdown) daily note template, and how One Big Text File is a great option for capturing thoughts and ideas in a plain text Bullet Journal.

There’s no AI input here; all words 100% human made. Non-subscribers are welcome to read for free.

Punctuation Trivia

Punctuation used to be about pauses, much like rests in music, rather than legibility. Usage practices were a hotly debated topic in the 19th Century. Read more

Using a Bullet Journal is profoundly changing my daily notes

It’s strange to see parts of my plain text planner fall into disuse as I continue using a Bullet Journal (rather than daily notes in Obsidian) for capturing, or logging, thoughts and ideas as they occur.

There’s no longer a need for the repeating list of daily tasks on my weekly note template, but I’ve decided to keep them around as a visual reminder, with no pressure…

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans